������������������������Morning Swim

archives
notes
d-land
contact

other diaries:

brittania
hulamoons
inarticulate
linkology
mawm
smartypants
tealeaf5

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

funny baby, sick family

The baby has started walking and it's really the funniest thing I've ever seen. He also loves to hold his head, like oh my god holding his head. It's hilarious. He does that and then we crack up. Then he walks around for a minute and we crack up again. When he really gets going he roams the room falling onto his hands, standing on his head (feet still on the ground), doing his frankenstein walk, holding his head. Oh the hilarity.

I'm waiting for Jeff. We've all been ill these past weeks. Oz had a terrible ear infection which meant his first round of antibiotics. I felt bad about that. Then I got a sinus infection. Also antibiotics. And now Jeff has a bad respitory infection and is getting his prescription for fucking antibiotics filled. Thems drugs. But I do feel better.

I may have hypothyrodism, I also learned. I'm going back to the doctor on Tuesday to see what's up.

Ugh! Fucking Dick Gordon and the fucking Story npr show! I hate this show. It's maybe just a NC show. It sucks, mostly. And this particular show that's on my radio right now is about sperm donation. I hate it hate it hate. And it's the third time I've heard this. Hold up, I gots to turn this off.

Better.

So yep, the old thyroid. I'm thinking I do have this, whatdoyoucallit? Condition? I can't seem to lose this damn pregnancy weight, my joints are always in pain, my thyroid is swollen, I'm exhausted all the time (22 pound eating machine may be the cause of that, true), and my hair has gotten brittle and breaks all the time. The clincher for me was that I read one symptom is you lose the outer third of your eyebrows. Sure enough, my brows are growing bald.

It's a relief, honestly. I've been beating myself up over so much of this stuff--like not losing weight and being tired all the time are character defects. Which is a shitty attitude, regardless. Nevermind.

New subject. I travel tomorrow! Me and the youngin are going to a conference in Wilmington and thus we get to stay with Blythe. I'm excited. Friend! We're seriously considering a move to Wilmington--I could get the same job I have now (with Blythe!) and Jeff could no doubt earn his keep somehow or another and we'd have friends and babysitters and interesting things to do. It won't be for another year at least, but it's my when-everything-gets-totally-shitty-don't-forget-plan-b pick-me-up. Enough with the damned hyphens.

The thing that I don't want to do, though, is quit my job. I'm feeling myself growing a wee bit ambitious at work. I don't think I've ever felt this feeling before. I'm taking note of my position in the department (poised quite nicely in third place, behind only the department chair and the lead instructor) and I think, hmmm. I've been getting tapped for various duties and I know the college tends to promote from within rather than higher outside folks for administration positions. This is such a lame train of thought, I know. But I don't think teaching is my strong suit. I think I'm decent at it, but I think I could really great at something else and I'm starting to think that the something else I'd be good at is instructional design. I love that shit.

I do love teaching, sometimes too. When all the stars align, teaching is lovely. Hell, I'm not a people person, though. I need to be behind the scenes.

Jeff's home! Dogs are barking, babe is waking. Bye.

8:01 p.m. - 2006-10-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next